Elbow Deep and Totally Worth It

A couple days ago, I summoned the help of a blog buddy who has much more experience than I in cooking whole turkeys. I’ve only done it once.

**Little back story on why I was cooking a whole turkey in August: The hubs gets these enormous hunks of meat from his company. This is our third turkey and the second pork loin (which is the size of a toddler) is hanging out in the freezer. Husby doesn’t like pork, with the exception of bacon, so I don’t know what we will do with that. Turkeys came from Thanksgiving so this one needed to be cooked…hence, Thanksgiving in August.**

After thawing in the fridge for 3 days, I remembered that I don’t REALLY know how to cook one, so enlisting the help of a veteran turkey cooker was a must. Especially after this post. Perfect timing on that one, Martha! By the way, being first trimester preggo and elbow deep in a dead turkey’s cold ass cavity was nauseating. Was really wishing hubs was home to do my dirty work. Thank sweet baby Jesus it was delicious. How did I do?

20120830-074331.jpg

20120830-074412.jpg

20120830-074430.jpg
This last one was before cutting the dark meat (again hubby doesn’t eat that either so I left it until we were done then it could go directly to the fridge). I’m not good at carving a turkey, obvi, so I was proud of what I accomplished with the hunks of breast meat I got off in one piece.

I found this egg roll recipe on Pinterest and decided to try it. Egg rolls are a traditional side to turkey, right? Right. It was disappointing :( I’m deep frying them next time.

I started writing this post like 2 days ago but shit just kept coming up (literally…that’s not a back story you want so don’t ask) and I couldn’t finish. I feel that after two days, I’ve lost my train of thought. Or rather, it came to a screeching halt. Either way, the turkey was worth it, the egg rolls sucked and I have a lot of shit to clean up…and hate my dogs right now.

6 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Cooking a turkey can be a really daunting task. It looks like it was moist/tender. So kudos to you. It looks to be a success!

    PS – The idea of being elbow deep in a turkey is kind of nauseating all the time.. so I can’t even imagine doing that preggo. You’re so brave.

  2. 3

    Cynthia said,

    I have wanted to comment on your last 2 posts but babies attack my computer so I shut it super fast both times! This looks good, way to go on the turkey. On a side note….get your S*@# together :) Couldn’t resist!

    • 4

      Brittany said,

      Oh, I totally got it together! While K was napping, I mopped all the floors (dirtiest water EVER, btw…gross) and tackled the poop room. It’s still awful, but one task down!!!

  3. 5

    martha84 said,

    I’m so proud of you, you little pregnant dOmestic diva. Looks delish. I’m glad I could help :)


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers

