Green Monster

I have a very exciting post today!!!

Browsing Pinterest a few days ago, I came across a frozen, green, smoothie-type drink called the Green Monster Spinach Smoothie. Intrigued, I clicked through to the original location and found the blog of an “Iowa girl”…hence her blog.

This recipe tastes good! I repeat… This.recipe.tastes.good. Basically, it’s banana, peanut butter, yogurt, milk and baby spinach. Blend until smooth and enjoy!

Her recipe:
1 frozen banana (peeled, sliced and frozen previously)
1 Tbsp peanut butter
1/2 C 0% vanilla Greek yogurt
1 C Almond Breeze (or any kind of milk)
4 C fresh baby spinach

I did a few replacements because I’m an Illinois girl and we don’t do fancy…

Instead of 0% Greek vanilla yogurt, I used nonfat Vanilla (from Aldi…booya) and instead of Almond Breeze, I went out back and milked ole Bessy…she’s a 2% kind of cow. I also added sliced, frozen strawberries because I happen to have them in my freezer. Why, you ask? Because I put my dear husband and myself on a diet…because we’re chubby…and when I make him eat healthy food, he insists he go grocery shopping with me. To some, that may sounds appealing with the extra help. To the girl who does everything with only one, small, cute, mostly-silent partner…it did more than make me roll my eyes. His motto is “Go big or go home.” So we came home with THREE bags of salad, 2 large containers of strawberries, the largest bag of baby carrots I’ve ever seen, more large quantities of “healthy” food and a bag of those new Almond Joy pieces candy. “We start the diet tomorrow, right?”

I digress. So, I threw in about a cup of strawberries. Altogether, my take on the Green Monster made exactly 24 ounces and 560 calories. I drank half and froze the other. So at 280 calories, this could even be a snack instead of a meal replacement.

I’m seriously so excited about this discovery! They taste good, are low cal and packed with stuff that’s good for you! This might become a daily staple for me. I didn’t feel like I was choking down a Slim-Fast or something. It really does taste amazing. The fresh spinach and fruit gives it a refreshing flavor. And even though the recipe doesn’t call for much, the peanut butter is really good!

We keep all of these ingredients in the house at all times (except the spinach…until now) so it was just my style. I’m not into buying a whole bunch of random or exotic ingredients for one recipe. I’m all about versatility and this fit the bill. So happy to have found this!

Now go spread your wings but be sure to come back and tell me the changes YOU made!

20120306-085715.jpg

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    martha84 said,

    That sounds delish! I love smoothies, but I still am weirded out about putting veggies in them, but with all that yummy fruit, I am definitely inspired to give it a shot!

  2. 2

    Cynthia said,

    this is a different recipe, I might have to try this one too! Thanks for sharing!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

