Fajita Experiment

I like to call myself a good cook.

In reality, I’m a good direction-follower. I can follow a recipe like it’s my JOB! Adventurous to me, is substituting skim milk for whole milk.

So imagine my surprise when I ROCKED my own socks off with beef fajitas tonight!

20120508-194738.jpg

We have half a beef in the deep freezer and I had gotten stew meat out about a week ago. It’s been over 70 degrees for the last two weeks…I’m not making stew. This morning, I decided to step outside my comfort zone and I put a package (1 lb) of stew meat in the crockpot with some spices…because I’m lazy I like to plan ahead. At Aldi (woot woot!), I got a “variety” package of bell peppers, a bag of tomatoes on the vine, an onion and tortilla shells. I think it was a total of about $3. Shredded lettuce from Walmart (my Aldi doesn’t have shredded…boo).

Here’s the “recipe” (thatdeserves an LOL):
1 lb stew meat, frozen or thawed
1 yellow bell pepper, cleaned and sliced
1 green pepper, cleaned and sliced
1 red pepper, cleaned and sliced
1 yellow onion, peeled and coarsely chopped
1-3 tomatoes
1 tsp Cumin
1 tsp Onion powder
1 tsp Garlic powder
Salt and pepper

Put meat in crockpot (I used a small one) and add 8-12oz of water. Mix Cumin, onion powder, garlic powder, s&p and sprinkle over meat. Set crock on low, cover and leave for 6 hours. In the last 30-45 minutes, sauté onion and peppers in a large skillet, sprinkling some more spices on top, until brown but still tender (not soft). Add tomato, beef and a few spoons full of water/juice from crockpot. Let simmer 10 minute or so.

This isn’t an exact science (obviously, I’ve only done it once!) but this is the general idea. If you try it, let me know how it goes and what changes you made! The hubs walked in and gushed about how the house smelled just like our local Mexican restaurant. It’s after 9pm and the house STILL smells like Mexican food! Good thing we love Mexican food 😉

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    martha84 said,

    That looks so yummy! I haven’t had fajitas in forever! I am so glad you’re back to blogging! I missed you so!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

