The Perfect 500

Ladies and Gents, I have found my perfect breakfast! As I was recording my food for the day on MyFitnessPal, I noticed that my breakfast hit exactly 500 calories. Whether that’s a good number for you or not, it’s worth a blog post simply for hitting the even number. 🙂

So what did I have? A glass of orange juice and a breakfast burrito. Sounds kinda lame, if I do say so myself. BUT, when you add bacon to anything, it’s an instant home run. FYI, it wasn’t in the OJ.

20120606-084240.jpg

2 scrambled eggs
1 tbsp real bacon bits (yeah yeah, processed, dehydrated crap…but still bacon 🙂 )
A sprinkle of cheddar cheese (I said it was “1/8 cup”)
1 tbsp salsa
1 tortilla (whole wheat would have been better but I work with what I’ve got)
And top it off with an 8 oz glass of OJ

It doesn’t sound like much but it’s filling and the salsa makes it really tasty! I get bored with diet/healthy food pretty easily so anything I can add salsa to is a win in my book.

I thought I was really hungry a week or so ago and made 2 of these. HA! I got 2 bites into the second and about hurled.

Anybody else have some great standby breakfast dishes? I’m always on the hunt.

Leave a Reply

