…And One More Thing

This ecard pisses me off more than any other on the face of the planet.

20121125-221950.jpg
I naively, and ignorantly, would have thought the same thing had I not been a SAHM for the last 2 years. Let me tell you something, staying at home with a toddler, aka: tiny tornado, requires 10x more work to keep up with the house than everyone leaving for 8-9 hours a day. The house being occupied for around 4 or 5 hours per day is not the same as it being occupied all day, everyday. And let me remind working moms of something else, they get alone time AND adult interaction time everyday. My alone time is spent showering on the days Little Miss won’t leave my side without a complete meltdown that I don’t have the energy to deal with. Or it’s spent doing the cleaning that I can’t do while she is awake. Being a SAHM is just as much work as working outside the home, it’s just DIFFERENT work. You sometimes have to deal with people you don’t like while we never get a day off (I always laugh when people say TGIF…I don’t get to clock out). It’s give and take. Some days, I wish I worked outside the home while other days, I nearly have a panic attack just imagining if I had to leave my sweet, precious rainbow baby in the care of someone less capable… Just like some days, a working mom can’t wait to drop off little Johnny at daycare because he is being such a handful while other days, loathes her friends who became SAHM’s.

Seriously, the comparison shit needs to fucking stop. Apples and oranges here, people. WOTH cannot be compared to being a SAHM. They. Are. Different. Period.

8 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Cynthia said,

    can I get a BOOOOM up in here!?!?!

    • 2

      Brittany said,

      Um, for rizzle dizzle. I’m definitely not dogging on moms who work full-time. That has to be hard to drop your kid off everyday, I don’t know what that feels like. Or having to take time off to stay home with a sick kid. It sucked when I couldn’t go in for ME being sick. But having said that, there is no freaking way being a SAHM is “easier” than working outside the home. I would NEVER imply that being a SAHM is harder and I get so sick of SAHM’s acting like going to work is doing a disservice to your children and working moms acting like they are super heroes because they spend the most awake time with their kids only on weekends. Can’t we all agree that a happy mom equals happy kids? Or if it’s a financial
      issue, realize that a good mom will do whatever it takes to care for her children. Loving, protecting and caring for your children defines what kind of mother you are and I don’t think all the judgment sets a good example to children, no matter where you “work”.

      • 3

        Cynthia said,

        absolutely! I have always worked part-time since having kids and I feel like I’m “looked down on” by the hard core supporters on both sides. SAHM are always, well, at least you get out of the house…as if the other 600 million hours I’m home are cancelled out by the 3-4 hours I may have worked a couple days a week. The working moms are always saying, “but you’re home most of the time, you don’t understand”
        And I’m all, “whatev, I’m doing my thang, you do yours” And yes, ghetto accent is implied 🙂

      • 4

        Brittany said,

        Bahaha! You need to bring the ghetto out more often, I like it!

  2. 5

    Mallory said,

    I can see both sides of the coin here. Working all day outside of home with a husband that is always out of town is exhausting. It is difficult to find a balance in life. I feel like I have a million chores to do when I get home and I want to spend time with my child and do fun projects with them. I feel like I spend all weekend catching up on cleaning, shopping and yard work and then it already Monday again and back to work I go. I dont discredit how difficult it is to stay at home with baby either. Whatever situation you are in, you will always feel you are lacking in some way or another. Life is tough.

    • 6

      Mallory said,

      In addition, ALL moms are amazing. We are the backbone of a family and balance all the life situations and continue to sing our song. I have been both and they are both equally difficult.

      • 7

        Brittany said,

        Exactly, I think we are arguing the same point… Nothing is rainbows and puppies all the time, you take the good with the bad. Regardless of where we “work”, we are all moms who are doing what we feel is best for our children and need to stand together instead of finding reasons to bash each other.

    • 8

      Brittany said,

      Amen! I always thought I’d be so much more productive if I stayed home but when it comes down to it, I still have to choose between cleaning and sewing (need vs want). And sadly, cleaning usually wins. 😦 Everything is so much more difficult with a little shadow making another mess as fast as you clean up the first one.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

